Government: Before the Ancient Roman Republic Government


In the early period of Ancient Rome, before the establishment of the Republic in 509 B.C., men would take power as kings. This was known as the period of the Seven Early Kings of Ancient Rome. The reign of the seven early kings lasted more than two hundred years. Even though it is historically thought that early Ancient Rome had seven kings, this cannot be certain as Ancient Rome’s records were destroyed in 390 BC.

The early kings of Ancient Rome possessed absolute power over Ancient Roman citizens. During this time in Ancient Rome, there was also the Senate. At its start, the Senate was simply a branch of government consisting of advisors, but had no power over citizens. The senate just carried out and administrated the wishes of the king. It was not until the establishment of the republic of Ancient Rome that the Senate would play a major role in the Ancient Roman Government.

The Ancient Roman kings also had authority over: Head of State, Head of Government, Commander in Chief, Chief Priest, Chief Legislator, and Chief Judge. This gave the ruling king absolute power and authority. This is why after 200 years of a monarch rule; Ancient Roman noblemen decided it was time to establish a republic where no one ruler was not allowed to have absolute power and control.

The Seven Early Kings

King From Until
Romulus 753 BC 716 BC
Numa Pompilius  715 BC 674 BC
Tullus Hostilius 673 BC 642 BC
Ancus Marcius 641 BC 617 BC
Lucius Tarquinius Priscus 616 BC 579 BC
Servius Tullius 278 BC 535 BC
Lucius Tarquinius Superbus 534 BC 509 BC

Share and Enjoy

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Delicious
  • LinkedIn
  • StumbleUpon
  • Add to favorites
  • Email
  • RSS